(almost) one piece giraffe pattern

 

What you’ll need:

orange yarn

a small amount of brown yarn

a suitable size hook for the yarn used

yarn needle

regular needle

black thread

beads/buttons for eyes

As always i’ll be using English crochet terms so have a look at my conversion chart if you’d prefer American terms. Crochet into the back loop only of all stitches unless the instructions say otherwise and continue working in a spiral, using a stitch marker to keep track of rounds. I’m left handed and so the diagram for the legs is also left handed. You’ll need to reverse the direction if you’re right handed (ie. anti-clockwise). If you can’t figure it out leave a comment or send me an email and I’ll gladly redraw the diagram right handed and add it into the instructions.

HEAD

Round 1. With orange yarn create a magic ring containing 6dc.

Round 2. 2dc into each stitch (12 stitches total)

Round 3. *2dc into first stitch, 1dc in next stitch. *repeat 6 times (18 stitches total)

Round 4. *2dc into first stitch, 1dc in each of next 2 stitches. *repeat 6 times (24 stitches total)

Round 5. 1dc in each stitch.

Round 6. *miss 1 stitch, 1dc in each of next 3 stitches. *repeat 6 times (18 stitches total)

Round 7. *miss 1 stitch, 1dc in each of next 2 stitches. *repeat 6 times (12 stitches total)

STUFF. Do not fasten off but continue with neck

NECK

Round 8-17. 1dc in each stitch.

STUFF

Round 18. *2dc into first stitch, 1dc in next stitch. *repeat 6 times (18 stitches total)

Round 19-20. 1dc in each stitch.

Round 21. *2dc into first stitch, 1dc in each of next 2 stitches. *repeat 6 times (24 stitches total)

Round 22. dc 9 stitches, htr, 2tr, 2tr, 2tr, 2tr, htr, dc 9 stitches (28 stitches total)

Round 23. dc 9 stitches, htr, tr, 2tr, tr, 2tr, tr, 2tr, tr, 2tr, htr, dc 9 stitches (32 stitches total)

Round 24. dc 10 stitches, htr, htr, tr, tr, 2tr, 2tr, 2tr, 2tr, tr, tr, htr, htr, dc 10 stitches (36 stitches total)

Round 25-28. 1dc in each stitch.

Do not fasten off but continue with legs:

LEGS

Round 1. The next stitch you are about to complete is stitch number one and there are 36 stitches in the round (see the diagram below)

dc 9 stitches, chain 9, dc back into stitch number one to create a loop. Continue in the direction you are going:


Round 2-5. 1dc in each stitch.

Round 6. Change colour to brown. 1dc in each stitch.

Round 7. *miss 1 stitch, 1dc in each of next 3 stitches. *repeat until there are only a few stitches left, slip stitch the hole closed and fasten off.

With orange start at stitch 10 (on the diagram – the next stitch from the leg you just completed) and repeat steps 1 to 7 for the second leg.

Repeat for the remaining two legs, starting at stitch 19 and 28 respectively.

Stuff the legs and the body:

Using orange yarn stitch the legs together.

Attach a length of orange yarn to the back end and chain ~6 stitches to create a tail:

NOSE

Round 1. With brown yarn create a magic ring containing 6dc.

Round 2. 2dc into each stitch (12 stitches total)

Round 3-5. 1dc in each stitch.

STUFF and sew onto front of head

HORNS

Use a crochet hook to pull a length of brown yarn through a stitch on the top of the head. Knot together 4 or 5 times and trim. Repeat on the other side of the head.

EARS (x2)

In brown ch6.

TURN

sl st in 2nd chain from the hook, dc, htr, tr, sl st.

Fasten off and sew onto the side of the head

FINISHING

Using black thread sew buttons or beads to the front of the head for eyes and sew two patches of black on the nose for nostrils. Weave in any loose ends and give him a name like Geoffrey, George or Gerald :)

29 thoughts on “(almost) one piece giraffe pattern

  1. The giraffe is so cute, and the way you figured out how to crochet it from start to end is brilliant. I’m always looking for new ways to crochet and your idea open my mind to new things with the same technics.
    Thanks for sharing.
    I’ll try it as well.
    best regards
    Daphna

  2. Thank you very much for this pattern! I made one with scrap yarn just to try it. It came out great and my daughter loves it even tho the yarns are mix match colors. I did run into trouble at one part. How did you sew the legs together? I tried sevral things but it wasn’t looking right so I ended up crocheting around and decreasing. That worked out great. I can’t wait to make more of these in different colors for baby gifts!

    • Hi, I’m glad you like it, thanks for trying it out.

      For the legs I sewed each leg to the two legs on either side and then in the centre just did a couple of diagonal stitches to sew opposite legs together – I hope that makes sense – probably not though!
      The legs I think look ok but I had visions of slender, elegant, tapering legs – instead they turned out a little bit stumpy :)

  3. Thanks for the pattern! I made one for my brother for his birthday and it turned out so cute!

  4. I made a little experiment, my first attempt in crochet, I’ve done this pattern with plastic bags and it work out just fantastic. Thank you. Love Marthucia

    • He looks great – I guess the bigger stitches just mean he’s bigger! Thanks for posting photos – Geoffrey the giraffe has been very popular and lots of people have told me they’ve made one but these are the first photos I’ve seen.

  5. Thanks for the pattern! My first attempt at arigurumi and this resulted in a gorgeous giraffe! Thank you. Dannie K

  6. Im 11 and love to crochet. I think this pattern is so cute and am wolking on a yellow and blue one! Its even better when u mix colors. Thanks for posting the awesome pattern!

  7. I just found a link to this pattern (probably through Pinterest) and I was SO HAPPY as I love giraffes! But I have to share a funny thought I had, I read the “As always i’ll be using English crochet terms….” part and I thought, “but I speak English!” Then I read the rest of it… I forgot America had different terms. :)

    Either way, I am going to try this! Thank you so much!

Leave a Reply

