Cult of Crochet

crochet has become a bit of an obsession – join me in the madness!

Vintage style phone case

“ANOTHER phone case!?” I hear you cry. “Are you insane woman – you have about twelve already!”

well yes, that is true, but my excuse is that I just changed my phone. I now have a lovely shiny new BlackBerry and while it is the correct size for some of my phone cases it has a rubberized case and so doesn’t really slide into them easily. So I decided to make a lovely lined case and this is the result. I think it’s my favourite one yet – lots of the others are colourful and fun but I just love the colours of this case and the stitch used makes it look interestingly vintage.

I’ll be using English crochet terms so have a look at my conversion chart if you’d prefer American terms. Read through all the steps before you start so you can decide where you would like to put the button holes.

The stitch is a variation on the grit stitch and it creates a nicely dense fabric – here’s how to do it:

Step 1. Chain slightly longer than the length of your phone/camera/iPod/laptop etc. making sure you have an even number of stitches. (if your phone/camera is quite thick then chain the length plus the depth). Now chain an extra 3.

Step 2. tr into the 3rd chain from the hook.

Step 3. *miss one stitch, dc and then tr into the next stitch. *repeat to the end of the row but on the last stitch just dc.

Step 4. Turn, chain one, tr into 2nd stitch from hook (ie. miss the chain you just did and tr into that last dc of the previous row)

Repeat Steps 3 and 4 until the piece is long enough to wrap around your phone and overlap enough to button closed. Fasten off (leaving a very long tail for sewing on your lining later).

BUTTON HOLES

To create a button-hole wait until after you have just completed a dc and tr. Instead of missing one stitch, chain 2 and, skipping three stitches of the row, continue as normal with a dc and tr into the 4th stitch. Try to space your button holes evenly along the row. My button holes were created during the third row.

LINING

Cut a piece of complementary or contrasting fabric to be just slightly larger than your piece of crochet. Create a hem all the way around (to prevent fraying) by folding under the edges and pinning to the crochet piece. Using your tail of yarn whip stitch or blanket stitch all around the edge. I think the whip stitch is quicker and easier but the blanket stitch would look fantastic if you wanted to use a contrasting colour to sew on the lining.

From the other side cut a slit in the lining at the position of the button holes and whip stitch all around the holes. This is where you can fine tune the size of the holes to fit your chosen buttons. Make the slits bigger and stretch the hole slightly to make bigger or whip stitch more tightly to reduce the size of the holes.

FINISHING

Fold up the opposite end of the piece from the holes and sew down each edge (I just whip stitched again) to create a pocket for your phone. You can choose to make this pocket big enough to completely, or only partly cover your phone. Mine only partly covers the phone so I can check the LED for messages or missed calls without having to unbutton the case or take the phone out. The lid folds over and overlaps so the phone is still completely covered and protected (doing it this way also means you can see more of the lovely lining material).

Now put your phone in the case and fold over the flap to decide on the best place to sew the buttons. When sewing on the buttons try to only sew through the crochet and not the lining – this looks nicer and means there are no knots rubbing against your phone on the inside. Instead, hide your knot between the button and the case.

Filed under: crochet, instructions, , , ,

26 Responses

  1. Brittany says:

    Very Nice! I will have to make a couple!

  2. Vims says:

    This is so neat! I am going to give it a try!Thanks for sharing!

  3. Sara says:

    This is so pretty. Hope you don’t mind if I share this too. Its perfect! Linking up at Tangle Happy on the 20th. Thanks for sharing this. :)

  4. [...] up one more cozy for my HTC Desire. Could not resist this vintage-looking pattern. I loved the idea of whipstitching all [...]

  5. [...] really love this pattern. After making one, it left me wanting to make more. So I adapted the pattern into a small [...]

  6. Annaboo says:

    Wow, this is just so cute. I’ve had a go at making my own, seeing as I have exactly the same coloured yarn in my stash! Do pop over and see my blog for the unveiling- I’d love to know what you think!

    • Crochet Geek says:

      Hey I just saw your blog and the case looks great – i really like the mismatched buttons. You didn’t leave a link so it was just luck that I happened to stumble across it! If anyone else wants a peek then you can see it here. Quite a few people have done some variations too which can be seen here on Ravelry if anyone’s interested. I always like to see people’s different interpretations of my ideas so do keep them coming.

  7. J says:

    I made a variation of this case and I LOVE it. Thanks for this pattern. I didn’t line mine and I used only one button. It was the first time I’d made a structured object AND a buttonhole. :D I also liked the stitch itself and plan to try making a scarf using it. And I plan to make another one of these cases for my crafting/reading glasses.
    http://www.ravelry.com/projects/Scraplyn/vintage-style-phone-case

  8. Karrie says:

    So cute~~ I love it!! Gotta get my hook out!!

  9. KnittyKnerd says:

    I found this pattern the other day and managed to whip one up in a total af about 4 hours. Now I’m doing a second one in the car! Love it!

  10. sheena1220 says:

    such a pretty pattern:) i just want to know, what size of crochet hook did you use?:)

  11. crochet101 says:

    hello:) i have been following the instructions but the result seems to be different from mine compared to yours:( instead of dense looking stitch, it clearly shows the tall and gaping tr and dr:(,

    • Hi again,

      are you following the instructions knowing that they are using English crochet terms? The mostly likely thing you’re doing is following them as if they were American. A treble in English is equivalent to an American Double. and an English double is an American single. If you look at the beginning of the instructions I give a link to a conversion chart.

      if it’s still a bit holey and thin then try using a smaller hook. Good luck!

      • crochet101 says:

        thank you very much for such a fast reply:) my bad, i did not read it properly:) will be enjoying to make this pattern now that i know how to do it properly:D

  12. fani says:

    i just loveeeeeee these….. gotta make it today!!! thanks for the pattern.. totally in love with it =)

  13. Sara says:

    So im making your adorable phone case for my best friend’s mom’s birthday, and something seems to be going wrong. It seems like I’m losing stitches, as the square gets bigger…. So the square is basically getting narrower as I’m crocheting, I suppose. Do you think you could possibly tell me what you believe I’m doing wrong? If you could it would be a tremendous help!

  14. Jenny says:

    Hello! I came across this pattern just love it! I am the editor of AllFreeCrochet.com and would love to feature your tutorial on my site with full credit to you. I know my readers would love it as well, and in return would generate some nice traffic to your site. If you agree and would like us to feature your project, our readers will simply click the link to your blog to get your full tutorial. It’s really that simple. Please let me know if this would be ok. I look forward to hearing from you!
    Jenny
    Jbenoit@primecp.com

  15. Alice says:

    I have tried multiple times to make this, and I keep decreasing for some reason :(, any advice? I’m starting on a foundation for a multiple of 2 + 3, I’m crocheting through both top loops, and I’m positive I’m using UK stitches.

    • Hello, sorry for the delayed reply – I haven’t been able to get on here much over the summer. Are the number of stitches actually decreasing or are the stitches the same but the piece just becoming narrower? if you reply to cultofcrochet@gmail.com then I’ll be able to reply to you much quicker than on here. thanks

  16. Margarita says:

    What a neat looking case! Would you mind clarifying something for me? When doing row 4, do I have to alternate trs with skipping a st?

    • Hello, sorry for the delayed reply.

      the main pattern for all the rows is to dc and then tr (English remember!) into one stitch. skip one stitch. dc and tr into next stitch. skip one stitch…..

      I hope that makes it a little clearer :)

  17. Erika Lopez says:

    Hi I love love your bag! But can you explain a little step 4 I don’t really get what I need to do? Do I have to tr one skip and repeat? Thank you

  18. Jayne says:

    Hi. Sorry if I have missed this bit in your post and other comments but what ply yarn did you use? Would love to make it and just wanted to check with you before I start. Thank you

  19. desfleurs says:

    Hi !
    Thanks a lot for this nice phone case that inspired my husband who wanted to have exactly the same !!!
    Which I did, of course !

Leave a Reply

Cult of Crochet on Pinterest

Cult of Crochet on Pinterest

Ghost Bunny

Ghost Bunny

One-Piece Toadstool

One Piece Toadstool

Seamless Fingerless Gloves

Seamless fingerless gloves

Animal Phonecases

Frog & Bunny phone cases
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 834 other followers

