Cult of Crochet

crochet has become a bit of an obsession – join me in the madness!

Fun and Free Flower Loom

Whilst browsing patterns on ravelry I keep coming across blankets made up of beautiful flowers. I excitedly click on the pattern only to learn that they’re not crocheted at all but are in fact made on something called a flower loom. It all sounds terribly complicated and so I would close the page with dismay and continue my pattern search. Well this kept happening and so I thought I should find out exactly what these flower loom things are and where I might get one. It turns out they’re very simple and I found quite a few different instructions on how to make your own. The simplest of these was just from a plastic ice-cream tub (which I didn’t have so used cardboard instead).

The one on the right is my attempt to make a two layered loom – it works but is a little flimsy in cardboard (a good excuse to eat more ice cream!)

Winding the yarn sends me straight back to the 80′s and the joy of spirograph :)

There are instructions for lots of different styles and ways to finish the centre and I haven’t had chance to try them all yet. But I’m sure I will!

Winding the yarn (twice around shown here)

Sewing the centre in purple (backstitch method)

Finished flower

Double layered flower with button centre

My first attempt - what a mess!

It only takes 5 minutes to cut out a cardboard cog loom so why not give it a try. My first flower was a bit of a mess (shown above!) but after that it was really easy.

Filed under: Not crochet, , , ,

11 Responses

  1. Susan says:

    How cool! I never thought of making my own loom out of plastic lids, and since I have so many just sitting there waiting to be put to use this will be perfect!
    Thanks for sharing!

  2. marjulo says:

    I love these flowers! What a great technique! I so appreciate all the tips and patterns you provide. You also brought me back to Ravelry. It has been a long time since I was there. I thank you for that as well!

  3. Sara says:

    I LOVE these! So pretty… Linking up at Tangled Happy this week. Thanks for sharing this. :)

    • Crochet Geek says:

      That’s great – I’m glad you like them.

      I’ve made quite a few flowers and the cardboard is a bit crumpled and sad now so I do think plastic would be better. You have to fold the cogs to get the flower off and after a while it just collapses – I think plastic would just bend and spring back into shape easier. But it was great just to try it out and I got a couple of dozen flowers out of it.

  4. laura campo says:

    Oggi mi metto al lavoro e provo a fare questi fiori . . .il metodo non deve essere troppo difficile spero bene”!!! E’ bellissimo imparare cose nuove Grazie

  5. [...] finished off this bag by adding a flower made using the cardboard cog flower loom from the same yarn as the bag and with a button in the [...]

  6. Beth says:

    I actually REALLY like your first attempt. Thanks for sharing your flowers!

  7. Amanda says:

    Oh my gosh, these are so awesome! What a great idea!

    I run Fun Family Crafts, a site similar in nature to Craftgawker and Spotlight, but different in that it’s a library of craft tutorials geared only at kids. I would love it if you’d stop by and submit this to be featured! (I link to you, I don’t post your tutorial on the site) Feel free to submit as many kid friendly craft tutorials as you like! http://funfamilycrafts.com/

    • Crochet Geek says:

      Hi, I’m glad you like them – I can’t take any credit for the actual tutorial though – the ideas all came from http://knitting-and.com/small-looms/ and I just picked the methods I liked best, took photos as I went along and linked to the actual tutorials – head on over there for many more small looms and more in depth instructions.

  8. Danielle says:

    This is awesome and beautiful. But I am a first timer and need instructions. How to wind and how to remove from the plastic loom. Please and million thanks

    • Hi, since this isn’t my original creation I didn’t think it would be right for me to produce a step by step tutorial for the flowers – photo instructions for lots of variations are available from the links in the post – here are the particular instructions I used for the pink/purple flower:

      Winding the yarn
      Stitching the centre

      as for taking it off the plastic loom you just bend the prongs one by one and slide each ‘petal’ off.

      I hope that helps

Leave a Reply

Cult of Crochet on Pinterest

Cult of Crochet on Pinterest

Ghost Bunny

Ghost Bunny

One-Piece Toadstool

One Piece Toadstool

Seamless Fingerless Gloves

Seamless fingerless gloves

Animal Phonecases

Frog & Bunny phone cases
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 808 other followers

