Cult of Crochet

crochet has become a bit of an obsession – join me in the madness!

Crocodile Scarf Head

The Crocodile scarf is finished! When I showed it to a crochet friend she said it was an adorable scarf for a child… “yes” I replied, “…a child…. yes…. that’s right…. that’s who it’s for…”

I shall have to remember not to wear it when I’m meeting her – she already thinks I’m odd for crocheting toadstools. She’s right though it would look very cute on a kid.

The detailed instructions and photo tutorial for how to complete the crocodile stitch and start the scarf at the tail can be found in my earlier post: Crocodile Scarf Tail. Check that out then follow the link at the end to come back here and finish off the head.

As a recap here are the general instructions for the tail (for detailed step by step instructions follow the link above)

I am using bamboo ribbon yarn that I’m not sure of the weight of and a 5mm hook which makes each scale ~2.5cm (1 inch) in width and height.

TAIL & BODY

row 1 (tail): 1 scale for as long as you like (I have used a chain of 8 scales for my tail)

row 2: increase to 2 scales

row 3: increase to 3 scales

row 4: decrease to 2 scales

row 5: increase to 3 scales

row 6: increase to 4 scales

row 7: increase to 5 scales

row 8: decrease to 4 scales

Continue alternating between 4 and 5 scales to a row until the body of the scarf is as long as you want it.

Now if you’re using thin yarn then I would recommend continuing until the work is normal scarf length – long enough to wrap around your neck at least once. If like me you are using quite thick yarn then the resulting scarf will be too thick to wrap all the way around. Instead I made a “tab” and sewed it to the underside of the head then you can pull the tail section through to secure the scarf wrapped just around the back of the neck (as shown in the first photo of this post).

For the tab chain about 15 and just complete a couple of rows of double crochet – it doesn’t need to be pretty – it won’t be seen. Then sew it to the underside of the head approximately where the eyes are.

Anyway whichever method you choose you first need to know how to complete the head:

After the body is as long as you want it end on a row containing 4 scales

HEAD

row 1: decrease to 3 scales

row 2: decrease to 2 scales

row 3: increase to 3 scales

row 4: increase to 4 scales

row 5: decrease to 3 scales

row 6: increase to 4 scales

row 7: decrease to 3 scales

row 8: decrease to 2 scales

row 9: increase to 3 scales

Fasten off and weave in ends.

TEETH

With much thinner white yarn and a small hook attach to the edge of the final row of scales. There are no proper stitches here so please excuse the lengthy descriptions of where to complete stitches – I hope it makes sense!

Step 1. chain 1 and dc into the same place you attached the yarn

Step 2. complete 5tr into somewhere halfway between the edge of the scale and the centre of the scale

Step 3. 1dc into the centre of the scale

Step 4. complete 5tr into somewhere halfway between the centre of the scale and the far edge of the scale

Step 5. 1dc between this scale and the next

you should now have 2 teeth attached to the first scale. repeat steps 2-5 for the next 2 scales until you reach the end – you should now have 6 teeth. Fasten off and weave in ends.

EYES

I tried a few different styles of safety eyes but they all made him look a bit sinister so in the end I used white felt and black thread. Experiment with the placement of the eyes to give him different expressions. Mine are placed on the middle two scales of the 4th row from the end.

Filed under: clothing, crochet, instructions, , , , , , ,

15 Responses

  1. [...] UPDATE: The scarf is now finished. Instructions for the head and finishing touches can now be found here: Crocodile Scarf Head [...]

  2. [...] half of the scarf are now available. And when you’ve completed that you can move onto instructions for the head and finishing touches. [...]

  3. Claire says:

    OH, this look so GOOD! I am going to make one for hubby for Xmas… oh, ya, and maybe one for my 6yo… LOL :)

  4. Hello! Found this tutorial on Pinterest and immediately crocheted up a little croc of my own. Your tutorial is awesome and I’m looking forward to making another (in scarf size) soon!

  5. Sherry Buenrostro says:

    I totally love this pattern, but then I discovered it’s for left handed crocheters. I”m so sad now. It’s harder when you’re 69 years old… Help!!

    • Crochet Geek says:

      The instructions for the scarf are just basically telling you how many scales to work on each row so all you need to learn is the crocodile stitch itself – my instructions will work for right handers too – the photos just show what it looks like from a left handed perspective (yours would look the same – just flipped 180 degrees). Give it a go and don’t give up – it took me a couple of false starts before I got the hang of it. There are plenty of right handed you tube videos for this stitch and you could also look these instructions from bistitchual for a different way of wording it if that helps. Good luck!

    • Sherry Buenrostro says:

      Thank you so mich for your kind response! The croc is soooo cute!!

      Best Wishes,
      Sherry

  6. Heather H. says:

    Fun! I need this for children’s Story Time at the library. And I bet with some ear and fire then same pattern could morph into a dragon! This gator would be a great prop to accompany “Snip, Snap, What’s That” and “There’s an Alligator Under My Bed.”

  7. Jennifer says:

    I love this little gator and am making myself. I am new to crocheting and when I do my scales they don’t lay flat and pretty like yours do. They curl up a little bit so that it looks more like a ruffle on each row. Am I using the wrong yarn or doing something incorrect? Did you have to stitch down the bottom part of the scales as well? Any tips would be appreciated.

  8. Line says:

    Thank you for such a lovely pattern. Shall I dare wear it? I’m no longer a child…

  9. [...] Crocodile Scarf by Cult of Crochet: The ethical  – and hilarious – alternative! [...]

  10. […] Crocodile Scarf by Cult of Crochet: Clearly what the crocodile stitch was invented for! […]

  11. Jenny says:

    Hello! I came across this pattern just love it! I am the editor of AllFreeCrochet.com and would love to feature your tutorial on my site with full credit to you. I know my readers would love it as well, and in return would generate some nice traffic to your site. If you agree and would like us to feature your project, our readers will simply click the link to your blog to get your full tutorial. It’s really that simple. Please let me know if this would be ok. I look forward to hearing from you!
    Jenny
    Jbenoit@primecp.com

Leave a Reply

Cult of Crochet on Pinterest

Cult of Crochet on Pinterest

Ghost Bunny

Ghost Bunny

One-Piece Toadstool

One Piece Toadstool

Seamless Fingerless Gloves

Seamless fingerless gloves

Animal Phonecases

Frog & Bunny phone cases
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 841 other followers

