Cult of Crochet

crochet has become a bit of an obsession – join me in the madness!

Broomstick Lace Bracelet

This weekend I learnt broomstick lace. I saw a photo of a broomstick cuff on Ravely but the pattern just says “work 3 groups of 5 stitches of broomstick lace for the length of your wrist.” which wasn’t quite the level of detail I was hoping for!

As with the crocodile stitch I’d been putting off learning this stitch because it looked quite complicated and there seemed to be a lack of left-handed written instructions, and again once I got my head around it it was actually quite easy. The most useful instructions I found were detailed written instructions from dayliliescreative.com - as usual though the instructions are for the right-handed majority so I’ve created a photo tutorial here for all the lefties out there to even things up a little.

I think completing this pattern with a fluffy or highly textured yarn would be a bit of a waste – you need a nice smooth yarn that will show up all the stitches. Select your yarn (you don’t need very much for this small project – the finished bracelet with buttons weighs less than 10g) and a suitably sized hook – here I’ve used bamboo cotton and a 4mm hook. You also need something thicker – the broomstick from the name of the stitch. A thick knitting needle would be perfect because of the tapered point for sliding stitches on and off but I don’t knit so I used a 15mm crochet hook instead. The thicker your “broomstick” the longer the lacy clusters will be.

Step 1. Chain 15 and pick up your “broomstick”.

Step 2. Pull out the loop on the hook and place it over the broomstick. Using your hook work your way down the chain, pulling a loop of yarn through each chain and without twisting it placing it around the broomstick.

Step 3. Once you’ve worked your way down the whole chain you should have 15 loops around the broomstick.

Step 4. Turn the broomstick around so the length of working yarn is at the top. Insert your hook under the first 5 loops on the broomstick as shown below. Yarn over the hook and pull under all 5 loops. Yarn over again and through the single loop on the hook. This is a slip stitch completed just once at the start of every row.

Step 5. *Insert the hook under all 5 loops as before, yarn over the hook and pull under all 5 loops. Yarn over and pull through both loops on the hook. *repeat 4 more times (5 stitches total)

Step 6. Push this group of 5 loops off the end of your broomstick.

Step 7. Repeat steps 5 and 6 for the next group of 5 loops.

Step 8. Repeat steps 5 and 6 for the final 5 loops and remove the work completely from the broomstick.

Oh dear – it doesn’t look very lacy and swishy like all those lovely photos you’ve seen does it? Not to worry – pick up the work and hold it vertically so the starting chain is in one hand and the row of stitches you’ve just completed in the other.

Pull these rows apart to reveal the lovely loopy broomstick stitches. There’s no need to be gentle – the work should be quite solid and able to withstand some tugging. This is where using smooth yarn gives another advantage as straightening it up is much easier. If it’s being stubborn then pull on individual loops to even them up – again don’t worry about being rough – you can always pull them back – nothing will unravel.

Phew! That looks much more like it. Row 1 is complete and you should have 15 stitches.

Step 9. pull out the working loop and put it around the broomstick as you did in step 2. Just like step 2 work your way down the row of stitches pulling loops through the work and putting them on the broomstick.

At the end of the row you should again have 15 loops around the broomstick.

Step 10. Repeat steps 4 to 8 to complete this next row.

Continue repeating this process and after a few rows your work should look something like this:

From the couple of sites I looked at I think this is generally considered to be the front of the work but I much prefer the other side which seems more delicate and lacy:

Continue adding rows until the bracelet fits snugly around your wrist. I needed 9 rows. Fasten off and weave in ends.

You could add another row or two and simply slip stitch the work into a ring for a loose bracelet but I preferred it to be snug and actually think the buttons look good and will probably wear them facing out. If you want buttons then sew 3 onto the front side of the starting chain end. The loops of your last row will act as button holes.

Filed under: crochet, instructions, , , , , , ,

97 Responses

  1. Cathy C says:

    Love the bracelet!

    If it makes you feel a bit better, my mom was left handed and taught me, a righty, to crochet, knit and sew.

  2. marjulo says:

    This pattern really convinces me that I have to learn to crochet! Thanks!

  3. beadinggemb says:

    Just stumbled upon this! I saw the original tutorial and loved it. As a right-hander, I never thought it would pose a different challenge for a left-hander! Thanks for sharing this with other southpaws. I will mention it on my Facebook! Pearl

    • Crochet Geek says:

      I find it difficult to tell my left from my right at the best of times without trying to flip everything in my head :)

      As I say in this and the crocodile scarf pattern it was easy once I got going – it was just laziness I think. Hopefully now though my left handed photos will help anyone else who’s been putting off learning these stitches.

  4. Susan says:

    Totally awesome tutorial…I’m left handed and have tried this before. I’m ususally pretty good at reversing the instructions, but this one just wasn’t cooperating. Now I’ll be making broomstick lace for everything!

  5. Wow – this stitch is beautiful! I’m totally trying this one out myself. I’ve never heard of this before.
    Thanks so much for the great tutorial!

  6. [...] This weekend I was looking for a quick little project  & decided on this broomstick lace bracelet from cult of crochet [...]

  7. Dana says:

    Thank you for this tutorial.Bracelet is beautiful!

  8. Kate says:

    So could I get the pattern for a right hander??? I would love to make it..

    • Crochet Geek says:

      Hi, i’m glad you like it.

      I’m afraid I’m left handed so I can’t give you a right handed tutorial for this. The reason I wrote it in the first place though was because there are quite a few right handed (or generic handed) tutorials around for broomstick lace but I wanted to show fellow left handers some step by step photos to help them get their heads around it.

      check out the link mentioned in the blog where I learnt the stitch from in the first place:
      http://www.dayliliescreative.com/tutorials/Broomstick%20Lace%20Tutorial.pdf
      or you can just try following my tutorial anyway and if you run into trouble then save the photos and flip them around.

      Good luck :)

    • cacshantih says:

      Print out the pattern and then set it up in front of a mirror and look at the mirror images.

      In the directions just switch left for right.

    • courtney ellis says:

      i am a very avid crocheter (if that’s a word) and found a tutorial on youtube by a sweet older lady………and she did it right handed and in a much easier way!!!!

  9. [...] second: Intermediate – Broomstick Crochet Bracelet - Cult of [...]

  10. CK says:

    Great tutorial!

    *high five* for another left handed crocheter!

  11. Robbie says:

    I am in complete tears of joy right now! I have been looking for this stitch for years. My Gramma used to make the most BEAUTIFUL afghans using this stitch! I miss her sooooo much! Thanks for showing this! You are an answer to prayers!

    • Crochet Geek says:

      Thank you for your comment – I’m glad this was helpful for you and knowing that people find these posts useful and inspiring is what makes me carry on with them.

      you should make something pretty in honour of your grandma. and do send me a photo :)

  12. [...] I found a bracelet with the member Cult of Crochet. The pattern can also be found on her blog Cult of Crochet for non [...]

  13. Love it! Thanks for sharing!

  14. mommafo says:

    Eeee! I love it so much. :) I think the tan cuff w/the wooden beads is AWESOME. I have some silk/bamboo yarn that would look gorgeous. And some 50mm knitting needles!! Hehe. :) Thanks so much for your tutorial, although it took me a few seconds to switch my brain around to right-hand crocheting. But I think I’ve got it. ;)

  15. Paula says:

    Awesome bracelet

  16. Ms. Kathleen says:

    I love this… must try it for sure. Very cute.

  17. Thank you, I can’t wait to try this. Left-Handed crochet artist’s FTW… I feel less alone knowing that I am not the only person in the world who feels that every pattern is made for right handed people.

  18. Nan says:

    Thank you for sharing the tutorial with us and also the link for rh people. Love it and must try.

  19. Jana says:

    Love this…can’t wait to do this one, as soon as my homework is done. Who wants to do homework when they have yarn?

  20. Sherri says:

    WOW that looks amazing! I crochet and knit and now I will definitely have to learn how to do this!! Thanks for showing us!

  21. Alisha says:

    Strange question but how do you sew on the bottons? and with the same yarn you are using? just new at this and love this bracelet I just have to make it!! Thanks

    • Hi,

      I just left a long tail at the beginning and used that. I sewed them on the very end where it’s a bit more dense. You could do a couple of rows of double crochet (american = single crochet) if you want to make a little band to sew the buttons onto.

  22. [...] technique called broomstick lace crochet! If you want to learn it, there’s a pdf here, or a left-handed tutorial here. It took both of them for me to understand it, but don’t let that frighten you away. [...]

  23. ribbitthis says:

    Made this out of 1mm leather cord for my sister in law. Turned out great! Thanks for the post

  24. Stacy says:

    Made this for my daughters teacher for Christmas. Really enjoyed, will make lots more.

  25. Katie says:

    This is super cool! I didn’t quite realize it was lefty crochet, I almost thought it was some kind of crazy righty knit (which works perfectly for me!), but I suppose it can be done among a knit too. Super cool!

  26. Eva Anderton says:

    Love it- but I take the five loops off the broom before I do the single crochets and work them in my fingers- I really couldn’t see how you did them on the lg. crochet hook. Thanks, though. Love your blog!

    • that’s great if that works for you – much less fiddly I imagine. I’m a bit rough and heavy handed with my crochet though and if I took the loops off then I’d probably end up dropping it and unravelling it all :)

  27. Ok, I consider myself a pretty proficient crocheter, but I am stuck and confused about step #6. After you push the first 5 stitches off of the broom, you have the loop that you use to work stitches sitting there with no hook in it. How do you proceed to repeat steps 5 thru 6? What do you do with the loop? Soooo confused. Help………

    • Hi, there’s no hook in the loop just so that it didn’t get in the way of showing the stitches in the photo. The hook stays in the loop and you just continue back at step 5 and insert the hook under the next 5 stitches. The work does twist and crumple up a bit as you do this (especially on the first row), as you can see in the later photos, but you just pull it into the right shape when you’ve finished the row.

      I hope that helps!

  28. Milca says:

    Great job on those instructions. I’m gonna give it a try. I followed the picture from pinterest.

  29. Awesome tutorial….Can’t wait to try the stitch.

  30. Jarae says:

    Hi there!
    I have tried your tutorial and my row of three when I take them off the broom stick they are all twisted and I don’t know what I’m doing wrong. Would you consider doing a video possibly? Thanks so much!

    • Hello,

      I’m afraid I don’t have any way of taking a video but I’ll try and help:

      Firstly the first row does tend to twist and crumple up a lot so maybe it’s actually fine – have a look at the photo just below step 8. To straighten it up you need to pull on each side and untwist it – don’t be afraid to be quite rough with it. If it’s not straightening up you may need to pull on individual threads until it is even.

      Secondly are you left or right handed? I’m left handed and I posted this tutorial mainly as a help to other left handers – but if you didn’t realise the photos are showing how it would look to a lefty then that could be the problem – save the photos to your computer and flip them horizontally in some sort of photo viewer/editor to see how it should look for a right handed crocheter.

      I would also suggest using the smoothest yarn you have (or even thickish string) while you practice – normal or fluffy yarn is difficult to see and hard to pull even.

      Good luck and let me know how it goes!

  31. Dortha says:

    I love this, and it is not that hard to do, but I am having a problem finding the right yarn for this. One is too heavy, but thinner isn’t as easy to work with. What gage did you use on this?

    • Hello, the yarn I used is somewhere between dk and worsted I think. I don’t think the weight matters as much as how smooth the yarn is though – I used bamboo cotton and it was lovely – both to work with and nice looking. I tried just regular dk yarn and it was awful – hard to work with and you just couldn’t see the stitches very well.

      dig out the smoothest yarn you can find (or even string or something!) and experiment with different sized ‘broomsticks’ – wooden spoon handles, big knitting needles, a mascara – anything you have around!

      Good luck!

  32. [...] last 3 or 4 posts now?) that I don’t want to think about making a heavy wool anything. I found this post on Cult of Crochet a few months ago and bookmarked it because I knew I wanted to try it [...]

  33. Cathy says:

    I love this! I have now tried it 4 times and it looks nothing like it is supposed to, so I am giving up for now! And I know how to crochet, so this is really embarrassing. But I will try again! thanks for the lesson!

  34. Thank you for being left handed, LOL these images make sense to me. I’m excited to give this pattern a try.

  35. Web design says:

    Very very beautiful! A big like!

  36. Cherry says:

    This looks a lot more difficult than the crocodile stitch. Learned that one and made a couple of purses for my girls. They love them.
    I’m going to give this a try too!
    Thank you

  37. [...] Brazalete de ganchillo Posted in Blogs interesantes, Ganchillo, General, Tutoriales 06/04/12 Me ha parecido bonito y está explicado de una forma muy clara, espero que también os guste… Cult of crochet [...]

  38. This is the project that will finally get me to start to crochet, which I’ve wanted to try for quite a while. Thanks!

  39. Very clear instructions and pics! ThankYou:)
    My finished one:- http://pinterest.com/pin/173318285629807959/

  40. [...] Broomstick Lace Bracelet « Cult of Crochet From the couple of sites I looked at I think this is generally considered to be the front of the work but I much prefer the other side which seems more delicate and lacy: Continue adding rows until the bracelet fits snugly around your wrist. I needed 9 rows. Fasten off and weave in ends. Continue repeating this process and after a few rows your work should look something like this: [...]

  41. Karan says:

    Wow I Can look and understand this. Am left handed and would love to crochet. It is such a challenge to try to figure out what I am doing when watching a right handed person do this.

    I will definately have to try this.

  42. Lorrie says:

    I love the design, but had a really hard time figuring out why it seemed so difficult, as a righty. If you’re also right-handed and find this tutorial tricky, just check out some videos on youtube of broomstick lace. It instantly becomes much easier :)

    • Thanks for giving it a try Lorrie – yes I wrote this mainly for left handers as there are already lots of very good right handed tutorials out there. :)

  43. Sonya Miller says:

    THANK YOU SOOOOOO much for the lefty instructions!!! Instructions can be hard for us lefties sometimes and it is so exciting to find one written for me!!!!!! You ROCK!!!

  44. Jen M says:

    Thank you, thank you for this! I too am a lefty & find it hard to figure out stitches sometimes trying to look at them backwards:) I love this bracelet! It looks complex & I probably never would have tried it otherwise. It was actually quite easy with your instructions. Good job & thanks again!

  45. I can see there’s a bigger demand for left handed crochet instructions than I thought: if there are any other stitches you’d like to see a left handed tutorial for please leave a comment on my recent post “lefty requests?” and I’ll see what I can do :)

    http://cultofcrochet.wordpress.com/2012/05/27/lefty-requests/

  46. Lori says:

    Done…i love it…thanks…

  47. Trina says:

    This is such a beautiful stitch! I am left-handed and have been crocheting since I was 10 years old (equates to many years)…very helpful! Thank you!

  48. Nina Meyer says:

    THAT is AMACING!
    I’m in love with it!

  49. Lina says:

    WOW!!! very nice! I may have to dig up my crocheting stuff!!! Inspiration!! Headbands, scrunchy, ooooo, belt!!!!

  50. [...] used Cult of Crochet’s tutorial (with lots of pictures) to make the bracelets shown in this post, but I have since found [...]

  51. Vykky says:

    This is fantastic and as a left handed crochet person ! I love this tutorial – I will be doing this today ! Thanks

  52. jessycat1983 says:

    I can’t wait to make these. They will be perfect to hide my tattoos at work. Here’s a question though, I have a coworker who has a tat on her forearm. So she has to wear one of those sport sleeve thingies. How would I go about in creasing the rows to make it fit from wrist to elbow?

  53. Kristian says:

    Would you mind if I used this pattern to make bracelets to sell?

  54. Lauren says:

    I found you on Pinterest and I did it!!! I am definitely a beginner crocheter so if I can do it anyone can!! This is my first crochet project I have finished, I usually end up quitting midway, but this was easy and quick! You can see your progress the whole way so if you mess up you can easily fix it before getting to far in! I can’t wait to make another for my mom and sister! Thanks!!

  55. [...] cultofcrochet.wordpress.com via Wanda on [...]

  56. Sophie Milan says:

    very challenging! ;)

  57. Jill S says:

    Thank you for the leftie tutorial. I love the cuff and thanks to your great instructions, I will make one without frustration! You are a jewel.

  58. [...] Tutorial pentru realizarea unei bratari crosetate lata, cu inchidere cu 3 nasturi: broomstick-lace-bracelet [...]

  59. renee says:

    Thank you so much! From a fellow leftie

  60. Kim says:

    You make everything look so easy! Thank you for the tutorial!

  61. [...] tuto, en images, est là (c’est bien les images si on ne comprend pas l’anglais, mais il faut quand même suivre [...]

  62. [...] ist die Bezeichnung. Es gibt diverse Youtube- und bebilderte Tutorials im Netz, z. B. hier. Die Löcher (Augen) entstehen durch das Aufziehen von Schlaufen auf einen Holzstab. Wenn man den [...]

  63. catherine says:

    I’m a right handed, so I will check out the other link… But, wanted to tell you that I love your step 8, and the “do-not-panic” part. I would have panic. thanks.

  64. [...] saw THIS on pinterest and since she said it was a left hand tutorial I found this youtube tutorial. Since I [...]

  65. cindy says:

    Thank you from 1 lefty to another!!!

  66. Just made this and it looks great :) Followed your instructions even though I did it right handed and it came out perfect. My only problem was I didnt have 3 buttons the same!! I had 2 lovely wooden ones which I used on top and bottom and then a big one in the middle. This turned out to be too big though and I had to attach a small chain as a loop to put over the button!! You can’t see it but it means the middle one is offset from the other 2. Looks really cool though :)

  67. heather says:

    I find picture tutorials so much easier then most crochet instructions.

    I think this pattern would also make a really cute belt for a country style dress or something like that.

  68. Tammy says:

    Love the pattern so Im pushing into new territory for me. So probably a silly question but after step 6 & and before repeat the loop is just off the hook in your picture. What do I do with it when going into step 7. Hoping this will all make sense soon. Thanks

  69. abigail says:

    I love it

  70. sunrisewalker says:

    Thank you so much for putting up lefty instructions for this! I am a self-taught crocheter and learned the way that felt most comfortable, not even realizing till later that, being a lefty I just naturally did it left handed! can’t wait to get home and try this!

  71. laura says:

    It’s really nice!
    I’m gonna try to do it!!!

  72. linda says:

    It took me all day to figure out I needed to go to the other side,lol, it’s a great pattern and now that I understand it has so many possibilities, thank you

  73. […] I found a bracelet with the member Cult of Crochet. The pattern can also be found on her blog Cult of Crochet for non […]

  74. allison says:

    What a pretty stitch! I love the button detail. I can see attaching a long length of your pattern as a unique finishing edge to a sweater or scarf.

  75. passionetcouture says:

    Thank you for the tutorial!!!!! This is the second time I try to leaft a comment!!!! I hope that this time will be the best one!
    Marisa

  76. shirley mil ler says:

    Tyfor this i have always wanted to learn nd also a lefty now i know……:) please send more…

Leave a Reply

Cult of Crochet on Pinterest

Cult of Crochet on Pinterest

Ghost Bunny

Ghost Bunny

One-Piece Toadstool

One Piece Toadstool

Seamless Fingerless Gloves

Seamless fingerless gloves

Animal Phonecases

Frog & Bunny phone cases
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 805 other followers

