Cult of Crochet

crochet has become a bit of an obsession – join me in the madness!

Sith Scarf

I’m calling this my sith scarf because it turned me to the dark side - that’s right – it’s knitting….

I’ve said before that the few times I’ve tried knitting in the past it’s been a horrible disaster and I found the whole thing very awkward and slightly traumatic but when I saw this leaf lace scarf from the purl bee I fell in love and had to give it another try.

I went back to basics; loaded up you tube, starting looking at different techniques and ended up knitting left-handed (moving the stitches from the right to the left needle, holding the yarn in my right hand). But I still found purling a bit awkward and got my mind in a knot trying to think about slanting decreases and if they would need to be swapped.

After a few more frustrated attempts I settled on working the knit rows from the left needle onto the right with the yarn in my right hand but then instead of purling I knitted into the back loop of all stitches and worked from the right needle back onto the left. This is much more comfortable and I never have to swap the needles over – just move stitches from one needle to the other and back again with the right side always facing me. Those of you who knit – is this a valid method? or are you appalled by the idea? Every odd row of this pattern is just purl so it works well but I don’t know if it would be any good for any other projects.

Anyway I’m happy with my scarf so far, it’s not perfectly neat but not too shabby and soon I’ll have completed my first ever knitted project!

Filed under: Not crochet, , , ,

6 Responses

  1. Kirstin says:

    Oh my this is beautiful! I am just a beginning knitter but this has me inspired to keep learning. (I am a slightly more experienced crocheter).

  2. I’m a beginner, but I’ve completed a few successful projects and several somewhat advanced patterns in blocks for quilts and whatnot, and I just have to say… you knit back and forth?! Like, left needle to right, then right to left?? I can barely make some of my stitches with my dominant hand, girl.
    I applaud you!
    I have no idea if that’s a recognized method, but I’m stunned you learned how. I mean, I imagine with practice it becomes easier, like most things, but I find the idea daunting. I just turn my pieces around the traditional wrong side/ right side way, other than in-the-round projects, and it’s so far been all I know so I’ve been comfy with it. I had thought about your way because I’m a huge fan of practicality, but I just never tried it out. Props to you!

    • haha – thanks for the applause!

      but the reason is that I found it really awkward every other way. I think I just hate purls – they make my fingers ache. I watched U-tube and tried knitting left handed and right handed and different methods and they all had good points and bad points but either way I just really hated purling so I messed about until I found a way I didn’t have to do so many of them!

      I found knitting equally comfortable with either hand so decided to knit from the left needle to the right so that I could just follow right handed patterns without having to think or change anything. then instead of purling I just knitted through the back loop of each stitch from the right needle back onto the left.

      To say that ‘I knit back and forth’ is a bit of an overstatement though since that scarf is the only thing I’ve knit so far (apart from a few tiny trials of different stitches) if I was following a pattern that wasn’t just a straight (or almost straight) purl on every other row I think I’d have to rethink my strategy a bit.

  3. Alex Kemp says:

    I just love the stitch. It looks lovely

  4. Don’t know if you’ve tried the continental style of knitting, but as a crocheter-turned-sometimes-knitter I found it to be MUCH easier than the American/English method. It holds the yarn in the same way as crocheting and there is no wrapping.

  5. Magda aniceto says:

    This is beautiful! I´ve tried to make it, but I couln´t…. can´t understand the indications, once i´m portuguese and have difficulties translating… can you please help me with that!? Thanks. Great work )

Leave a Reply

Cult of Crochet on Pinterest

Cult of Crochet on Pinterest

Ghost Bunny

Ghost Bunny

One-Piece Toadstool

One Piece Toadstool

Seamless Fingerless Gloves

Seamless fingerless gloves

Animal Phonecases

Frog & Bunny phone cases
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 837 other followers

