Cult of Crochet

crochet has become a bit of an obsession – join me in the madness!

Tiny Rudolph

OK so he looks a bit like a Clanger dressed as a reindeer because I just made him up as I went along but he was quick to make and (I think) very cute. I do have some ideas of improvements if I made him again but I’ll just tell you those as I go along because now he’s finished I don’t have the heart to replace him (very sad I know!)

You’ll need:

  • Small amounts of light and dark brown yarn and a suitable sized hook to match the yarn (I used DK weight yarn and 4mm hook.)
  • A scrap of red yarn or some red embroidery thread for his nose.
  • 2 black seed beads and black thread for eyes (or just black thread if you have no beads)
  • Something to weight the base – he won’t stand up otherwise. I used three 5p pieces but anything small and heavy will work
  • A small amount of stuffing
  • A yarn needle
  • A stitch marker to keep track of rounds

We will be working in a continuous spiral so use a stitch marker to keep track of the start of the rounds. Crochet into the back loop only of all stitches and the terms I use are English – look at the conversion chart for the American equivalents.

The first change I would make is that I’d complete the first 5 rounds in dark brown yarn (to create the hooves (hoofs?)) and then change to the light brown and continue as the photos show.

BODY

Round 1. In dark brown yarn create a magic ring with 6dc and slip stitch closed

Round 2. 2dc in each stitch (12 stitches total)

Round 3-7. 1dc in each stitch (12 stitches) Change colour to light brown yarn after round 5.

Round 8. (2dc, dc, dc, dc) x 3 (15 stitches)

Round 9. 1 dc in each stitch (15 stitches)

Round 10. 2dc, htr, tr, tr, tr, 2tr, tr, htr, dc, dc, 2slst, slst last 4 stitches (18 Stitches)

Round 11. 2slst, dc, dc, htr, htr, tr, 2tr, tr next 5 stitches, 2htr, dc, dc, slst, slst, slst (21 stitches)

Round 12. slst first 5 stitches, dc, htr, tr next 7 stitches, htr, dc, slst last 5 stitches (21 stitches)

Round 13&14. 1dc in each stitch (21 stitches)

Insert weight into bottom of feet

Round 15. (miss one stitch, dc next 6 stitches) x 3 (18 stitches)

Round 16. (miss one stitch, dc next 5 stitches) x 3 (15 stitches)

Stuff

Round 17. (miss one stitch, dc next 4 stitches) x 3 (12 stitches)

Round 18. 1dc in each stitch (12 stitches)

Round 19. (miss one stitch, dc next 3 stitches) x 3 (9 stitches)

Add a little more stuffing if needed

Round 20. (miss one stitch, dc next 2 stitches) x 3 (6 stitches)

Round 21. miss one stitch, dc, miss one stitch, dc, miss one stitch, slst.

Fasten off and weave in ends

TAIL

Insert your crochet hook around a tr on the back of the body from round 11 and pull through a short length of light brown yarn. Tie the 2 ends in a knot a few times until the tail is as long as you want it then trim then ends.

ANTLERS

Repeat the process for tail on either side of the head in dark brown yarn to create the antlers. Leave a length of yarn when you trim them to create branches.

Here is where I would make another change if I did this again: I would make two antlers on each side of the head then knot these together to create a thicker base that tapers and creates more branches at the end.

FACE

Sew a scrap of red yarn (or embroidery thread) around and around the tip to create the nose. the more times you sew around the bigger you can make the nose.

sew a black seed bead to each side of the head for the eyes.

LEGS

I messed about trying different things with the legs and in the end sewed around with light brown yarn to define the legs then sewed dark brown yarn around the bottom for the hooves. If you followed the improved instructions then you will already have hooves so I would just sew once up the front, back and each side in light brown yarn to divide the base into 4 legs.

Filed under: amigurumi, amigurumi, crochet, instructions, , , , , , , ,

2 Responses

  1. Love your Rudolph:-) I am not very good at working with thin yarn myself, it is too much fiddeling around for me…

  2. [...] I saw this tiny crocheted Rudolph from Cult of Crochet, the cuteness was so overwhelming that I actually squeaked out loud. Need a [...]

Leave a Reply

Cult of Crochet on Pinterest

Cult of Crochet on Pinterest

Ghost Bunny

Ghost Bunny

One-Piece Toadstool

One Piece Toadstool

Seamless Fingerless Gloves

Seamless fingerless gloves

Animal Phonecases

Frog & Bunny phone cases
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 806 other followers

