Cosy Squares Blanket

cosy squares

Ok so it’s nowhere near blanket sized yet but it’s getting there (maybe a placemat). Currently about 25cm (10 inches) across and each little square is about 4cm (1.5 inch) on each side. I saw this pattern briefly a while ago but forgot about it and moved onto other things. The other day I found it again on Ravelry and set to work. Quite a lot of time was spent choosing the colours but now I have them there’s no stopping me.

I love how cosy this is – it’s chunky and textured but fast to create. The stitch is not difficult and you don’t need to count or follow a pattern but it’s complex enough to keep it interesting. Perfect for crocheting in front of the TV. If you want to give it a go then the pattern is Wool Eater by Sarah London. I’m using a 4mm hook and worsted weight wool.

cosy closeup

5 thoughts on “Cosy Squares Blanket

  1. This is beautiful! Is this what is known as Bavarian Crochet? I have a book in my library, and have wanted to try it for a long time now. There are a lot of things you can do with this stitch! I think I have just the yarn that will make up something lovely . . .
    . :)

  2. Very interesting pattern, I feel like I’ve seen this one around the crochet blogosphere a while and always mean to try it because it really does look so interesting! Though also a bit intimidating, I’m glad to hear it’s good crochet-in-front-of-the-TV work, cause that’s my favorite way to crochet :D

  3. Reblogged this on My Meanderings and commented:
    Darn, I already have 3 knit projects going. Now, I am going to have to start an afghan with this pattern. It reminds me of a cathedral quilt and I love them – just can’t make them.

Leave a Reply

